TGfU Target Games in action

After a summer holiday reading a large number of TGfU related text last year I decided to draft a new scope and sequence for our year 7 practical syllabus. Last year we rolled it out (see previous post for more details). Firstly we started with Target Games as these involve the least tactical complexity and are also an excellent forum for assessing some  of the pupils fundamental motor skills. As I had spent the best part of 3 months on the theoretical aspect and drawing up some very prescriptive units (basically I wrote lesson plans for use by myself in my classes; however I tried to write them in a style that would allow others to, hopefully, understand use and them) I was excited to get in to the gym and try them out. As with all theoretical ideas, the practice didn’t always run as smoothly as I had envisioned and changes were made to lessons on the fly to try to maximise, learning, engagement and enjoyment. On the whole the unit was well received by pupils and I felt that outcomes were reached. Things I learnt along the way:

  • Too much content – most lessons in the unit have too many activities for an 50-60 min lesson. Therefore, I constantly refined, changed and dropped activities as suited the particular class I was working with. After all it is a draft unit.
  • Preparation for success – some lesson’s required a fair amount of time to set up equipment wise and I fully recommend taking the time to do so. On one particular occasion I did not get the time before class to set up equipment. The lesson worked fine but time was lost at the beginning of class which could cause problems depending on the cohort.
  • Student Designed game lesson – although I worked on this lesson in a theory lesson first and then took it to the gym, some pupils still struggled with the concept. However, with more practise they did get better throughout the year. So well worth pursuing.
  • Competition / challenge is motivating – although when writing this unit I thought it would be amazing to play some of these games, they are, by nature, less active than invasion games (for example). Therefore, a fair amount of ‘salesmanship’ was required to engage the pupils at the start. However, as soon as pupils realised every part of the lesson incorporated a competitive element most pupils were into it. This also enhanced their meta-cognitive processes.
  • Questions are key – it can not be emphasised enough how important the right kind of questioning is with any TGfU / gamesense approach. Questions included in lessons plans worked well for me and brought about desired results.

This link will take you to the unit. Please feel free to look, use, critique etc Draft TGfU Games Unit (target only) This link takes you to a short video of a pupil explaining his pairs strategy in the HOOP BALL lesson. This was taken towards the end of the lesson in the 2 v 2 game Video: Strategic talk during Hoop Ball

I will look to post my striking a fielding games unit and observations in the near future.

Leave a Reply

